Thursday, May 7, 2020

On May 6, Senator Patrick Leahy and Rep. Jim McGovern sent a congressional letter with more than 100 co-signing members of Congress to Secretary of Defense Mark Esper expressing disappointment at the Trump administration’s reversal of Obama-era landmine policy and requesting answers to questions regarding future plans for development and use of antipersonnel landmines. The letter expressed “regret that the consultative process between the White House, the Department of Defense, Congress, and civil society organizations that produced policies on this issue during past Democratic and Republican administrations was ignored by this administration.”

You can read the full text of the letter here