

May 18,2010

The Honorable Barack Obama The White House Washington, DC 20500

Dear Mr. President,

We are writing to convey our strong support for the Administration's decision to conduct a comprehensive review of United States policy on landmines. The Second Review Conference of the Convention on the Prohibition ofthe Use, Stockpiling, Production and Transfer of Anti-Personnel Mines and on Their Destruction, held last December in Cartagena, Colombia, makes this review particularly timely. It is also consistent with your commitment to reaffirm U.S. leadership in solving global problems and with your remarks in Oslo when you accepted the Nobel Peace Prize: "I am convinced that adhering to standards, international standards, strengthens those who do, and isolates and weakens those who don't."

These indiscriminate weapons are triggered by the victim, and even those that are designed to selfdestruct after a period of time (so-called "smart" mines) pose a risk of being triggered by U.S. forces or civilians, such as a farmer working in the fields or a young child. It is our understanding that the United States has not exported anti-personnel mines since 1992, has not produced anti-personnel mines since 1997, and has not used anti-personnel mines since 1991. We are also proud that the United States is the world's largest contributor to humanitarian demining and rehabilitation programs for landmine survivors.

In the ten years since the Convention came into force, 158 nations have signed including the United Kingdom and other ISAF partners, as well as Iraq and Afghanistan which, like Colombia, are parties to the Convention and have suffered thousands of mine casualties. The Convention has led to a dramatic decline in the use, production, and export of anti-personnel mines.

We note that our NATO allies have addressed their force protection needs in accordance with their obligations under the Convention. We are also mindful that anti-personnel mines pose grave dangers to civilians, and that avoiding civilian casualties and the anger and resentment that result has become a key priority in building public support for our mission in Afghanistan. Finally, we are aware that antipersonnel mines in the Korean DMZ are South Korean mines, and that the U.S. has alternative munitions that are not victim-activated.

We believe the Administration's review should include consultations with

the Departments of Defense and State as well as retired senior U.S. military officers and diplomats, allies such as Canada and the United Kingdom that played a key role in the negotiations on the Convention, Members of Congress, the International Committee of the Red Cross, and other experts on landmines, humanitarian law and arms control.

We are confident that through a thorough, deliberative review the Administration can identify any obstacles to joining the Convention and develop a plan to overcome them as soon as possible.

Sincerely,

PATRICK LEAHY United States Senator

GEORGE . VOINOVICH United States Senator

RICHARD G. LUGAR United States Senator

JOHN F. KERRY United States Senator

JACK REED United States Senator

ORRIN G. HATCH United States Senator

DANIEL K. INOUYE United States Senator

CARL LEVIN United States Senator

OLYMPIA J. SNOWE United States Senator

CHARLES E. SCHUMER United States Senator

JOSEPH LIEBERMAN United States Senator

ROBERT F. BENNETT United States Senator

JEFF BINGAMAN United States Senator

DIANNE FEINSTEIN United States Senator SUSAN M. COLLINS United States Senator

BEN NELSON United States Senator

MAX BAUCUS United States Senator

LISA MURKOWSKI United States Senator

JUDD GREGG United States Senator

ROBERT MENENDEZ United States Senator

ARLEN SPECTER United States Senator

BARBARA A. MIKUKSLI United States Senator

SHELDON WHITEHOUSE United States Senator

CHRISTOPHER J. DODD United States Senator

HARRY REID United States Senator

SHERROD BROWN United States Senator

BENJAMIN L. CARDIN United States Senator

KENT CONRAD United States Senator

MIKE CRAPO United States Senator

BILL NELSON United States Senator

RICHARD J. DURBIN United States Senator

PATTY MURRAY United States Senator RON WYDEN United States Senator

BLANCHE L. LINCOLN United States Senator

BRYON DORGAN United States Senator

MARK WARNER United States Senator

EVAN BAYH United States Senator

GEORGE S. LEMIEUX United States Senator

MICHAEL F. BENNET United States Senator

MARY L. LANDRIEU United States Senator

RUSSELL D. FEINGOLD United States Senator

TIM JOHNSON United States Senator

MARIA CANTWELL United States Senator

THOMAS R. CARPER United States Senator

HERB KOHL United States Senator

KIRSTEN E. GILLIBRAND United States Senator

ROBERT C. BYRD United States Senator

FRANK R LAUTENBERG United States Senator

JON TESTER United States Senator

JOHN D. ROCKEFELLER, IV United States Senator

EDWARD E. KAUFMAN United States Senator

DANIEL K. AKAKA United States Senator

MARK L. PRYOR United States Senator

KAY R. HAGAN United States Senator

TOM UDALL United States Senator

JEANNE SHAHEEN United States Senator

CLAIRE MCCASKILL United States Senator

AL FRANKEN United States Senator

MARK UDALL United States Senator

JEFF MERKLEY United States Senator

DEBBIE STABENOW United States Senator

ROBERT P. CASEY United States Senator

MARK BEGICH United States Senator

AMY KLOBUCHAR United States Senator

TOM HARKIN United States Senator

BARBARA BOXER United States Senator

ROLAND W. BURRIS United States Senator

BERNARD SANDERS United States Senator